J&P Cycles Technical Forums

Come participate in our American V-Twin and Metric motorcycle tech forums
Welcome to J&P Cycles Technical Forums Sign in | Join | Help
in Search
Latest post Tue, Jul 18 2017 9:58 PM by Shughes4. 12 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Jul 11 2017 1:36 PM

• Shughes4
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Jul 11 2017
    • Posts 9

1980 Ironhead Problems, any advice?

can't get my ironhead to crank over.

Things i've done:  Replaced the handlebar controls, starter relay, and bought a new generator (its in the mail).

From what i understand, and i'm new to harley.. so bare with me. - is that by jumping the starter solinoid, and testing it to fire, its a problem above the starter, or alongside it.. not after it. (starter engages, but doesn't crank - can hear the bolt trying)

I don't get spark.  (i've removed the plugs and walked it to watch for compressions to test for motor lockup, no lockup has occured)

The start and run buttons work fine with the key in the ignition, so its not the switch itsself.

I polarized the generator, and tried to start it afterwards, and heard a low pitched whine, like a straining generator motor (or a weak one).. and came to this conclusion.

I removed the electronic ignition cover plate, and saw no damage, wear or otherwise (although, one of the post studs for the cover had broken - i've ordered 2 replacements)  The coil itself looks dirty, but not beaten.  The plug wires are a joke, purchasing new ones is on the top of my list for the next parts run.

I've cleaned out the gas tank excessively (has a faulty cap which allowed vapor to sit inside the tank and create rust, will replace once it runs)

Other than that i can't think of any reason the bike wouldn't start.  The timing on the bike is functional, and no engine problems have really occured.. Perhaps if you consider the generator part of the motor, then yes.. but otherwise, no.