J&P Cycles Motorcycle Community

Participate in our motorcycle forums, view photos, and read up on our motorcycle tech articles.
Welcome to J&P Cycles Motorcycle Community Sign in | Join | Help
in Search
Latest post Mon, Jan 27 2003 6:21 PM by sfranta. 12 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sat, Jan 25 2003 1:08 PM

VOES switch: what the ___?!

can someone pls explain what the hell a VOES switch is, what it's used for, where it sits on the motor, and whether an Evo motor uses/needs one ? (go easy on me - i'm a first time builder) THANX
  • Sat, Jan 25 2003 7:11 PM In reply to

Re: VOES switch: what the ___?!

If you go with a slide body carb or electronic ignition, you then ditch the VOES.

• Sat, Jan 25 2003 7:23 PM In reply to

More details: The voes switch closes when there is high vacuum, when it closes the timing is advanced. So when you wack open the throttle, haul a load up hill or at idle when there is low vacuum, the timing is retarded. When you are cruising ( and vacuum is high) the timing is advanced for better economy. There are a number of switches available that will close at various amounts of vacuum ( in inches of mercury) from the dealer. The voes usually mounts over top of the intake manifold and gets the vacuum signal from a port on a CV carb or from a port on the manifold. I use them on my bikes. MK

• Sun, Jan 26 2003 5:09 AM In reply to

so... running an S&S Super G carb with a Forcewinder DOES NOT require a VOES ?!!!? right? it's a butterfly carb w/ a constant/fixed venturi. ok, well then... to quote Remus' "How To Build The Ultimate V-Twin Engine": "Instead of a choke an enrichment circuit is used." WHAT THE HELL ARE THEY TALKING ABOUT NOW?!!? what KIND of circuit are we talking about here and am i confusing THIS for the VOES (that apparently i DON'T need w/ a G carb???!!!???)
  • Sun, Jan 26 2003 8:00 AM In reply to